Articles
BACK
Listen to this articleHow to find an article
In the Databases page, there are three options to search for articles:
1. Connecting individually to each Database. See FAQ
2. Starting a global search in all databases directly from the main search bar on the top of the page.
3. Starting a search with EBSCO Publication Finder, in the Databases list, with a journal title to search within the publication.
Global search with the search bar
1. Search for an exact title: Put the title of the article between quotation marks, e.g.: “Hospitality managers’ perception of corporate social responsibility: An explorative study”.
2. Search with keywords, more info here.
On the results page, you will be able to refine your search:
Click on “All filters” to open the menu
- “Full Text Only” for all the articles with full text access
- “Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals” if you want to search for academic resources
- “Catalog Only” for only the physical book in the library collection
- “Published Date” for selecting published document from the past 12 months, 5 years, 10 years, etc.
- “Source Types”, allows you to choose what type of resources you want to retrieve, e.g. select “Academic Journals” to retrieve only articles
Click on “Apply” to refresh your results with the new filter(s) you have selected
Search in EBSCO Publication Finder
To know if the library holds a journal, log on to the library website on the Databases tab and click on the database called “EBSCOhost Publication Finder”. Enter the name of the journal, e.g.: Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research. The search result will display as follows:
The result shows in which database(s) you will be able to retrieve the full text (e.g. “Hospitality & Tourism Complete”) as well as the date coverage (e.g. 2003 – Present, with a delay of 15 months for this example).
Click on the database link (here “Hospitality & Tourism Complete”) to access the journal.
From this point you have 2 options:
1. You have a complete reference, and you can simply browse through the year and issue numbers on the right-hand side, e.g. 2014, Volume 19, Issue 3
Mackenzie, M., & Peters, M. (2014). Hospitality managers’ perception of corporate social responsibility: An explorative study. Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, 19(3), 257-272. doi: 10.1080/10941665.2012.742915
2. You have the exact title, and you can simply use the “Search within this publication” link and enter the title.
